Planning Board


30 Schuyler Place, 4th Floor Conference room 7:00 pm

  • January 15 (with Rail Freight Advisory Committee and Board of Transportation)





Duties & Powers of County Planning Boards
  • Adopt a master plan showing the county planning board's recommendations for the development of the county.
  • Advise the board of chosen freeholders in adopting and establishing an official county map, showing the highways, roadways, parks, parkways, and sites for public buildings or works, under county jurisdiction, or in the acquisition, financing or construction of which the county has participated or may be called upon to participate.
  • Review of all subdivisions of land within the county and for the approval of those subdivisions affecting county road or drainage facilities.
  • Review of site plans for land development along county roads or affecting county drainage facilities and for the approval of such development.

The Morris County Planning Board consists of nine regular members and three alternate members:

  • Director of the Board of Chosen Freeholders
  • One member of the Board of Chosen Freeholders to be appointed by the Director.
  • County Engineer
  • Six citizen members who may not hold any other county office and who shall be appointed by the Director of the Board of Chosen Freeholders with the approval of that body.
  • Two alternate members who shall serve in absence of a citizen member.
  • One freeholder member who shall serve in absence of the Freeholder Director or freeholder member.

The Morris County Planning Board has four Standing Committees:

  • Legislative & Municipal
  • Land Development Review
  • Environment & Watershed
  • Long Range Planning

The duties of the four Standing Committees are described in the Bylaws.


  • Thomas J. Mastrangelo, Freeholder Director
  • David Scapicchio, Freeholder
  • John Cesaro, Freeholder Alternate
  • Ted Eppel
  • Joseph Falkoski
  • Steve Hammond, County Engineer
  • Isobel Olcott
  • Annabel Pierce
  • Steve Rattner
  • Everton Scott
  • Stephen Jones, Alternate #1
  • Nita Galate, Alternate #2